Back to All Events

Practice with the Pink Full Moon!

April's full moon is known as the Pink Moon, but don't expect it to look particularly pink. It is named after pink flowers called wild ground phlox, which bloom in early spring and become widespread throughout the U.S. and Canada this time of year. In fact, the April full moon is the first full moon of spring in the Northern Hemisphere (it's the first fall season full moon in the Southern Hemisphere).

Technically, the full phase — when the moon is on the exact opposite side of the Earth as the sun — occured at 2:08 a.m. EDT (0608 GMT). For skywatchers on the West Coast, the moon will reach peak fullness at 11:08 p.m. PDT on Monday (April 10). That said, the moon will appear full to casual observers everywhere from April 10 to April 12. [The Moon: 10 Surprising Facts]

Earlier Event: April 2
Love Our Canoes & Beach Clean Up Day!
Later Event: April 22
Canoe & Club Pule (Blessing)